Department of Justice

As per the Allocation of Business (Rules), 1961, Department of Justice is a part of Ministry of Law & Justice, Government of India. It is one of the oldest Ministries of the Government of India. The Department of Justice was under the administrative control of the Ministry of Home Affairs and Union Home Secretary has been the Secretary of Department of Justice till 31st December, 2009. Keeping in view the increasing workload and formulating many policies and programmes for Judicial Reforms in the country, the Secretary, Department of Justice was appointed on 1st January, 2010 in the Ministry of Law & Justice. The secretariat of the Department is located in the Jaisalmer House, 26, Man Singh Road, New Delhi. The Organisational setup of the Department includes one Additional Secretary, three Joint Secretaries, seven Directors/Deputy Secretaries and eight Under Secretaries. The functions of the Department of Justice include the appointment, resignation and removal of the Chief Justice of India, Judges of the Supreme Court of India, Chief Justices and Judges of the High Courts and their service matters. In addition, The Department implements important schemes for Development of Infrastructure Facilities for Judiciary, setting up of Special Courts for speedy trial and disposal of cases of sensitive nature (Fast Track Special Court for cases of rape and POCSO Act, criminal cases involving MPs/MLAs), the E-court Project on computerization of various courts across the country, Legal Aid to Poor and Access to Justice, financial assistance to National Judicial Academy for providing training to the Judicial Officers of the country. The functions of Department of Justice are given in Allocation of Business (Rules), 1961.